It was never a dress and I love that…But this dang cape!!!

it-was-never-a-dress-5aa14f81c3bcc-estampa-301-680x969.png

Women’s Empowerment and the flying of the cape is in full force right now and I’m loving it! Never has there been quite a time like this to be unapologetically us! We are sprinkling our magic any and everywhere we go and the world is wide-eyed and watching! Women are an unmatchable power and the world is better for it.

Buuuut…with great power comes great responsibility and nobody shoulders responsibility quite like us. Problem is…man does that get rough some days…even if we don’t wanna say it.

I have always prided myself on being a full-fledged flyer of the cape and forcefully so…I’m a Superhero…Wife, Teacher, Therapist, Chef, Friend, Sister, Daughter and more…but I can honestly say…it’s heavy, and sometimes feels like more of a burden than glory to bask in. Simply put…today is one of the days that I am tired. Flat out tired…of wearing this dang cape. I’m currently sitting in my classroom at work at my desk, overwhelmed, eyes crossing, mind racing, plans brewing; thinking about home and the laundry piling, dishes stacking, and dinner ingredients waiting. All the while knowing that I’ll feel less like myself if I don’t complete all on my to-do list…while simultaneously feeling not at all like myself because I’m buried in my list of things to do.

Right now I feel like I can’t tell my butthole from my elbows and can’t figure which way is “up”.  Everything on my agenda this week requires the Superhero version of me and I flat out can’t find her. I’m overwhelmed, undermotivated, and super frustrated right now. What’s even worse is I feel even more lost typing that because anyone who knows me knows that I’m the queen of “keeping it all together”…or at least looking like I do.

I have to remind myself that it’s ok to be a little “off my square” and it’s more than ok…genius even…to let in some help. It’s not ok to pretend you’re ok and all the while feel less ok than you can put into words, all for the sake of “wearing the cape”. Contrary to popular belief, while we are magical we’re not invincible…and pretending we are actually makes us quite the opposite. We have to be sure to make sure we take a mental inventory from time to time…make sure we’re not running on “E”…or draining the “Her” trying to be the “HerO”. If your to-do list is too long, prioritize and make some “to-dos” “to-dont’s…tada disappear”. Tuck your cape in for a little, turn on the tv and take a breath. I’m gearing myself up to take my own advice…wish me luck. Hopefully tomorrow, I’ll be refreshed, recentered, and reset, flying my cape for the world to see…Here goes nothin!

-mylifeasthewyfe

Leave a comment